Honoring our Staff

Honoring our Staff
Posted on 10/31/2023
Leah Sahr and Sassa Brink
We honor Leah Sahr, Secondary Science Teacher at Anna Tobeluk Memorial School in Nunapitchuk, as our 2023-24 Teacher of the year; and Sassa Brink of Akula Elitnaurvik, as our Victor Kanrilak Memorial School Community Advocate of the Year. 

Leah Sahr is an innovative teacher.  She always has fun educational activities that engage her students.  She supports her colleagues by helping them with classroom support and with connections to families and the community.  She is always willing to lend a hand and always does it with a smile.  

Sassa Brink has been working at the Akula School for a number of years as a School CommunityAdvocate (SCA). She knows her community well and keeps connected with parents and the community, but most importantly, with students. She is also studying for her Bachelor degree in Social Work, enhancing her knowledge in helping students use both the Western and Indigenous ways to meet their social and emotional needs. 

We are so grateful to Leah and Sassa for sharing their talents with our communities and schools, and for their dedication to our students!
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.